Summer!

14 Aug

Glancing back in my blog, I noticed that the last pictures y’all have seen of my town were during tsuyu, the rainy season. Everything was brown and grey back then.

Well, things change. The town is so beautiful now! Every day is sunny (we hit 95 or higher most days) with blue skies, thick white clouds, and vibrantly green everything else! Here are some pics.

The rice field behind my house:

 

A neighbor’s slightly parched garden:

 

Scenery from the train ride into Fukuoka city:

 

Outdoor eating at Fukuoka City’s famous “yatai” food stalls along the river:

 

Delicious, famous Fukuoka ramen:

 

The ramen is a little hot for this weather, and not entirely vegetarian, but Fukuoka ramen is so famous (and delicious), I couldn’t pass it up.

I love summer in Fukuoka!!!

7 Responses to “Summer!”

  1. Sunny August 14, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    Yum! The ramen looks delish. Liked the cool hats in the pic about “yatai.”

    • tarasensei August 16, 2011 at 6:12 am #

      There are lots of people wearing cool hats in japan! Although maybe that’s a trend that’s also picking up in the States?

  2. bill August 14, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Food and sky look great. Happy with you! Bill

    • tarasensei August 16, 2011 at 6:12 am #

      Thanks! Haha, you would probably hate the ramen, it’s all thick and heavy and fatty. *Technically* it’s not vegetarian, either, but I still eat it. 😉

  3. Maureen August 19, 2011 at 3:24 am #

    aw Fukuoka looks beautiful!

    • tarasensei August 23, 2011 at 1:21 am #

      Maureen! I miiisss youuuu!!

      If it makes you feel better, it WAS beautiful when I took those pics, but it’s been raining nonstop ever since. Thunderstorm-attack-raining.

      How are you???

      • Maureen August 26, 2011 at 12:34 am #

        aw I miss you too, Tara!! Thunderstorms make for great reading days so I’m still jealous :). I’m well. Glad to be home but I can’t wait for the chance to visit!

Leave a Reply

