Bulletin boards

6 Jul

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?? I’ve been kinda busy but without ideas for posts, so sorry for the hiatus.

It’s still raining non-stop here, if you can believe it. Well, we did have a week or two with little rain, just scorching hot temperatures every day. But this past Monday brought us back into the tsuyu, and it’s been dark and wet ever since.

Anywhosis, I’ve forgotten to post my bulletin boards for a while; here are the two most recent ones:

I’m particularly proud of the baseball one! It’s the first time I’ve (…sorta) branched away from my own interests, in favor of blatantly pandering to the students. They love them some baseball; the boys, at least.

It’s all about US baseball (and, let’s be honest, mostly about the Yankees), but I included lots of images of Japanese baseball mangas (there are lots), and a bunch of pictures of Japanese League baseball team logos. The nice thing about the manga pictures is that it’s helping to attract the girls’ attention, too.

I just put the bulletin board up yesterday, and the Word Search is already completed. But I suspect my best student did the whole thing. Which is fine, I guess, but she’s a senior and it was a pretty easy game. I was hoping to attract some younger kids. Maybe before I leave next week, I’ll put up two games, one for seniors and one for juniors.

They’ll have all summer to work on it. Because I’M GOING HOME for two weeks, through the start of summer break. Yayyyyy!!!! 😀 8 days and counting!

4 Responses to “Bulletin boards”

  1. Jess July 6, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Have you been getting my emails? I got your present and it is so cute, thank you so much! It’s on my bedside table right now. 🙂

    Also YAY YOU’RE COMING HOME! We have to hang out!

  2. heather kendall July 7, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Your bulletin boards are so cute! What a good teacher! For mine, I left copies of the game in a pouch, and then they could pull them out and complete them individually and I gave them a small prize (stickers) for doing so, if you want to cut down on the one student does it all thing!

  3. Sunny July 8, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    Love ’em! Love ’em! Love ’em! They are so well done! Definitelly an eye on American culture. When kids speak to you about them, keep ’em talking so they practice, practice, practice conversational English!
    See ya soon!

    • tarasensei July 9, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

      Thanks!!! ^__^

      Haha, the kids never talk to me about the bulletin boards, though. They barely even read them! Or at least, I don’t catch them at it. Sometimes I think the other teachers get more out of it than the kids…. which is also OK.

Leave a Reply

