Tsuyu

15 Jun

It’s the rainy season. Blergh.

We haven’t gotten to the worst of it yet, but it did rain quite heavily all weekend. I stayed mostly indoors. It’s raining again today, and will be all week.

On Monday, after the heavy rains, all of the fields looked like this:

Or even worse:

I didn’t realize it at first, but that field was actually flooded on purpose – rice fields are periodically flooded to kill off weeds. (rice crops themselves can survive for days under heavy water)

Chikugo and Kurogi are very brown right now. Most of the fields look like this:

And if they aren’t brown yet, then they’ll be burned until they are!

I don’t know why they’re burning the fields, though I assume it has to do with rice cultivation.

The farmers have been so busy recently. I see them working late into the evenings, till it gets dark at 7:30 or so. Weeding, hoeing, driving tractors, pulling up vegetables…. They are almost all elderly farmers, although some younger folks work on the industrial-sized plots.

For me, the worst part of tsuyu is the bugs. I saw a huge, fuzzy centipede  outside my school this morning, just rolling over and over. Then I saw four more this afternoon. I took this pic and asked my coteachers about it. Turns out it’s just a caterpillar (kemushi). A GIANT, possibly poisonous caterpillar:

Also, I saw a little huntsman spider hanging out in our stairwell. But even scarier was this charming reptile moseying casually down the sidewalk:

Eep! It’s all a little much, I’d say.

Luckily, despite the brown fields and the smoky air and the creepy-crawlies, there are still plenty of flowers in bloom. Check out this fascinating bush I noticed in Kurogi:

How cool is that?!

5 Responses to “Tsuyu”

  1. Sunny June 16, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    Great entry. Also, love your new pic of the field and your comment about your favorite field — so that’s how you know you’re in the boondocks? Thanks! Much different from NYC.

  2. Heather June 16, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    I’ve noticed that flower too – so cool!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rice « Tara-sensei's Blog - September 29, 2011

    […] time. The rice that we’ve watched grow for months – starting from the drab, brown fields during tsuyu, then sprouting up like […]

Leave a Reply

