In which I use up all of my bandwidth

22 May

Sports Day was so effing cool!!!!! These kids, I tell you. They’re amazing. So much talent, and perseverance, and boldness, and guts. I took zillions of photos and videos. Which I plan to share with you! But I’m going to have to spread them out over multiple posts, so my apologies to those of you who subscribe.

It’s totally worth it, though!! Let’s start with the students’ entrance. Oh, it totally rained, btw. We got soaked for maybe a half hour, and the rest of the day was perfect. So overall, I’d say the teruteru bozu came through.

One of the first events was by the first-graders, or 13 year olds. The girls were all trained in synchronized marching. They coordinated by counting 1-2-1-2 in loud voices. They’re the babies of the school, of course, so they’re still learning basic things like walking in a straight line (apparently).

What’s funniest about this event is how supportive everyone is. Every time the girls do a simple move, everyone claps. It’s great, but it’s wild in contrast to the boys – in the boys’ main event, the older students really browbeat and harangue the little ones into submission.

2 Responses to “In which I use up all of my bandwidth”

  1. Sunny May 26, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    The girls did very well! I liked the part where they cross-march. Are any of them your students?

Leave a Reply

