Halong Bay, Vietnam

25 Apr

Hey, folks. Sorry I’ve disappeared for so long. I should have some more posts coming over the next week! For now, I’d like to put up some Vietnam photos I wanted to share ages ago. This is just the 1-night cruise I did on beautiful Halong Bay. First, a few shots of our ships, and then some pics of the gorgeous bay and a huge cave we visited.

4 Responses to “Halong Bay, Vietnam”

  1. Bethany April 26, 2011 at 6:13 am #

    Ah, beautiful! I looked through the pictures first before reading your entry, and while reading I was like, “Wait, what? Was the cave really that big?” I clicked through again and only then did I notice the teensy people at the bottom. Ha, cool! I’m jealous.

    Also, wow, sorry for the last-minute and/or out-of-the-blue-ness, but I just found out last night that I have a three-day weekend next week (5/6 – 5/8) and I’m kiiiind of contemplating going to Japan (ugghhh I don’t know, I hate planning things last minute! Also all of my friends here still have to work so I’m like the Lone Traveler! But Japan is so close…). If I do go it’d be Busan –> Fukuoka, I guess, which is your neighborhood… ish…? Good things to see in/around Fukuoka? Would you be free at all that weekend? Not sure if you still use LJ at all but you can always PM me over there/e-mail snowystingray@gmail.com. Hope your classes are going well!

    -Bethany

    • tarasensei April 26, 2011 at 6:55 am #

      Yeah, i should post more pics of the caves and stuff but I was afraid of overloading people. And my parents always want to see pics of me, so *shrug*.

      That cave in particular is pretty amusing, though, so I’ll try to do a follow-up post about it. It was endlessly big, though; the Northern Vietnamese used it as a hospital during the war, and archaeologists are pretty sure that prehistoric people had, like, a whole society in there. Fun stuff!

      I just PM’d you. Come to Japan!! 🙂

  2. Sunny May 8, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    You’re right! Your parents always want to see pictures of you!!!!! You look great with the orange scarf — like some kind of Buddhist monk-ess.

    • tarasensei May 8, 2011 at 5:33 am #

      Haha, I never would’ve thought Buddhist monk, but thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

