Bulletin Board

17 Oct

Here’s a picture of the English Bulletin Board I created for my school. I figure I’ll put a new display up every month. This month was a tour of NYC, with pictures of Times Square, Central Park, etc. What do you think? Fellow teachers, any tips?

There was too much text for the students; they couldn’t/didn’t want to read that much English. So for my next display, I’ll have to rely more heavily on pictures and…other things I’m not sure of yet. I plan to do a Halloween display next week.

3 Responses to “Bulletin Board”

  1. sunny oneil October 24, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    Can’t wait to see the Halloween display. It’s a wonderful American holiday. Use LOTS of brown and orange. Try (if it’s not too time-consuming) making a border out of a string of jack-o-lanterns — maybe origami???
    For NYC or anything else geographic, you can have a world map somewhere on the board, not too big, and draw an arrow to NYC and an arrow to Fukuoka.

    • tarasensei October 25, 2010 at 1:07 am #

      Mom, i didn’t see these comments at all–thank you! I just put up the Halloween display and there’s lots of orange, so that’s good. That origami idea would have been wonderful; I wonder if I can get the kids to do it….

      Next month I think I might do a display of all the places I’ve traveled to. A fellow teacher suggested that. I will definitely put up a world map with arrows to NYC and Fukuoka; great idea! Thanks!

  2. sunny oneil October 24, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    Wait — I forgot to say that, firstly, your bulletin board of NYC is terrific. If you can keep it up, that type of easy-to-read but full-of-knowledge bulletin board is a great service to the school, and not just the students.

Leave a Reply

