Classic American songs

31 Aug

An English teacher today asked me to create a list of songs that represent American culture. We’ll create lyric sheets in English and Japanese for the senior high school students. Here’s the list I came up with. What do you think?

1)      Born in the USA, Springsteen

2)      Respect, Aretha Franklin

3)      Dream On, Aerosmith

4)      Lean on Me, Bill Withers

5)      9 to 5, Dolly Parton

There’s so much I wanted to put on there! Michael Jackson and Elvis are probably the two most egregious lacks, but I also wanted James Brown, Madonna, the Beach Boys, etc etc etc. It took me like an hour and a half to come up with this list.

One Response to “Classic American songs”

  1. Bethany September 2, 2010 at 1:22 am #

    Hey! Just catching up on your last few posts… I’m glad you’re having such a great time over there. I’m finally in Daegu, so omg! We’re so close! (And yet… so far. Gosh, we were super spoiled as Americans, where traveling 200+ miles each way in a single day is no big deal.) Anyway, this post made me laugh because I definitely tried to do the same thing myself before I left, but you’re right! IT’S SO HARD!! I think you have a bunch of really good picks in there (especially the first two! “Respect” was on my list as well), but, ummm, aren’t you missing something? The ULTIMATE in Americana? Yes, my friend, I am of course talking about the greatest song in American history: “Don’t Stop Believin’.” Ignore the fact that it was ruined by Glee, it’s still awesome forever and always.

Leave a Reply

